My First Citation, Due To A Couple Of Hybridizing Scaups

Thursday, the 3rd of December. Salekhard, Russia. After a busy conference day filled with talks on waterfowl, I am checking my e-mails in the Yuribei hotel. Suddenly, my attention is drawn by a message from Research Gate: “Jente, you have a new citation.” There it is, my first citation!

 

H-index

Although it is definitely not equivalent to publishing your first paper, the first citation can be seen as  milestone in an early scientific career.  A citation indicates that people are reading your work, which is often the result of a significant amount of blood, sweat and tears. Moreover, the fact that your paper is cited, shows that your work is considered relevant by other scientists. I have to admit: seeing my Ibis paper cited in another paper, brings forth to a satisfactory feeling of accomplishment. Indeed, that night I fell asleep with an ear-to-ear smile.

This citation also means that from now on, I am the proud owner of an H-index (i.e. a scholar with an index of h has published h papers each of which has been cited in other papers at least h times).  In my case, I have an H-index of 1, because one paper has been cited one time. A humble index, but it is a start…

 

'She didn't want to go out with you even though you told her you had a h-index of 37! Boy I don't understand women!'

 

Scaups

But what about the paper that cited me? Well, it was written by Philip Lavretsky (Wright State University) et al. and deals with hybridization between Lesser Scaup (Aythya affinis) and Greater Scaup (A. marila). Apart from geese (my study species), Scaups are now some of my favorite bird species!

Greater Scaup
One of my new favorite birds: the Greater Scaup (picture by Teddy Llovet)

 

 

References

Lavretsky, P., Peters, J., Winker, K., Bahn, V., Kulikova, I., Zhuravlev, Y., Wilson, R., Barger, C., Gurney, K., & Mccracken, K. (2015). Becoming pure: identifying generational classes of admixed individuals within lesser and greater scaup populations Molecular Ecology DOI: 10.1111/mec.13487

Leave a Reply

